The 2013 Habit

The Power of Habit

The Power of HabitIt that time of year where thousands of people fling around resolutions like they’re going out of style, even though the most common resolutions never seem fall out of style. You know the ones: Losing Weight, Quit Smoking, Find True Love…

In years past I’ve tried to focus on particular words to theme my upcoming year. This time it’s no different. Sparked solely from the book I just finished reading, The Power of Habit: Why we do what we do in life and business by Charles Duhigg, I’m dedicating 2013 to

HABIT

Breaking bad ones and creating new, healthy ones. Some I’ve already started such as my eating habits. Granted that was more forced by recently discovered food allergies, but still.

Some I want to tackle include my writing habits and my sleeping habits. Both need some tweaking. They’re not terrible, but could use a change for the better. I’m sure if I left it up to someone else to pick the habits they’d like to see change in me, the list would be exponentially longer. But in order to make change stick, I believe it has to come from the person doing the changes.

I remember years ago when I used to smoke, countless people tried to get me to quit. They tried guilt, reason, begging and more. But until I made the decision for myself, did I actually quit.

My hope is that if I can successfully change one habit, the rest will snowball into an avalanche of good habits.

So what are your goals for the new year? Do you think you’ll need help accomplishing them? Share below. There’s no rule saying you can’t get help in your resolutions.

Leave a Reply

