Colds, School, and Summer Reading

There is something fundamentally wrong about living in Arizona in 110 degree weather… and catching a cold.  It’s also bitter sweet that I had the day off of work.  I took the day off so I could go with my son, Atticus, to his first day of Kindergarten.  So it was convenient that I already had the day off, but crappy because I had things planned to do.

Everyone’s back to school now.  My daughter, Hailey, started last week.  My wife, Shanalee, started this week, but her internship started last week.  I go to my class starting Thursday.  It feels like the summer just flew by.

My summer reading didn’t go quite as planned.  There were plenty of books that I didn’t get to.  Two books that I only managed getting halfway through, one of which I don’t plan on picking up again.  I did partake in the great Harry Potter fiasco.  I read it in two days, resulting in a bad case of eye strain.  Overall, I liked it.  I do feel, as many have already mentioned, that the camping in the tent bit could have been drastically shortened.  The epilogue was just okay for me.  It still left a great deal unanswered in my opinion.

I also read Volk’s Game by Brent Ghelfi.  This was something out of what I normally read.  In fact I read it only because  Brent is in my novel writing class and this was his first publication.  I have to say, I’m glad I did.  It was a wonderful novel about Russian underground mafia.  The corrupt nature of the government.  Throw in some thought-lost stolen art work and you have Brent’s book.  Although it’s not for the faint of heart.  He graphically describes scenes of torture that are most vivid.  I expect to see great things from Brent in the years to come.

More recently I finished Thin Air by Rachel Caine.  This is the sixth book in the Weather Warden series.  These books are like candy for me.  They’re easy reads that I can devour in a day or so (without the eye strain).  My only qualm  is that the ending is such a cliff hanger (as all these books are) that I hate knowing I have to wait a year for the next book.  This book was a roller-coaster ride to the finish.  I have to say though, it felt like it was just part of a bigger book.

That’s it for now kiddies.  Type to you later.

Leave a Reply

