The Home Strectch

I had a good day writing yesterday. I felt the magic happening. That point when the characters seem to take over the story. At one point I looked back at the screen and thought to myself, “Where did that come from?”

It felt so right for the story, I merely thanked the main character and moved on. I’m hoping my last day will be filled with moments like that.

My current word count for the weekend is just under 5,000 words. If I can match that number today, I will be more than happy. It should bring me to the halfway point in the overall novel. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to finish the complete story this weekend. However, once the ball starts rolling, the momentum isn’t easily stopped. That’s what I’m hoping for any way. I want the first draft to be done with by November. That goal is obtainable.

I also want to take this time to thank everyone that has cheered me along. My wife who graciously left me alone all weekend.  The Amys for their online support through this entire event.  The people at the coffee shop, Unlimited, with there encouraging words as I strolled through their door these last several days. The total strangers that read this blog and were compelled to leave their praises at my efforts. And to my son, who yesterday morning gave me a little ladybug sticker “for my bravery.”

Thank you one and all.

2 thoughts on “The Home Strectch

  1. That’s awesome! Congrats for the good day…

    I prefer writing on paper and with a pen…the last time such an automatic character generation-cum-development happened with me, and turned out to be unintended but great, it was when I was writing my novel on a paper and with a pen.
    But alas!

    Later on, when I had to change things in the novel, which I started just two weeks back, FYI, I ended up changing so much and so drastically that I decided to restart and type it on the computer.
    I am horrible at writing on the computer.

    Horrible, I tell you…

  2. I think using pen and paper is great. It’s where all of my ideas start. As soon as I can, though, I have to transition to the computer for the very same reason your are rewriting everything. It was very hard in the beginning, several years ago. Now it feels so natural, I don’t have that same feeling of, “Oh my God! The screen is so huge how am I ever going to fill it up!
    Anyways, back to the keys. The day isn’t over yet.
    scg

Leave a Reply

