Back to Reality *sigh*

The three days of writing mayhem is finally over.  My fingers are cramped, eyes strained, and brain just a little melty, but it was well worth it in my opinion.  I didn’t finish the novel.  In fact I knew from the start that would have been too lofty a goal.

I did mange to get out over 8,000 words spanned over five chapters.  To me that seems flippin’ amazing.  Before this, I was wading in the murky middle.  I had the book started, and I knew how it was going to end.  For the life of me, though, I couldn’t bridge that gap in between.  This weekend solved all of that.

My total word count in my story is now around 30,000.  That’s about half a novel length, which is right where I need to be.  The rest of the story should write itself.  I know all of the events as they should play out.  I say ‘should’ because sometimes the little buggers in my story seem to do whatever they want.  Usually they’re right, but that’s beside the point.

Today I must head back to the real world, my mundane job, hobbling on my broken toe.  There will be a day when I can devote the majority of my time to my stories.  I look forward to that day.  Until then I will endure my job and the occasional evening and weekend to my writing.

Thanks once again to everyone for their support.  It meant a great deal to me.

3 thoughts on “Back to Reality *sigh*

  1. hey baby-
    you did great. um are you at home for lunch? could you take out the trash? (maniacal giggles)
    i’ll see you this evening…

Leave a Reply

