Tori Sings

Tori AmosLast night I took my wife to see Tori Amos in concert. I surprised her on our anniversary with tickets to the show. Now I have to admit that I’m not a huge fan like my wife. I do, however, know a talented artist when I see one. Without a doubt, Tori has talent oozing from her finger tips and throat.

A definite highlight for me was when the band exited the stage and left Tori alone with her piano. That’s when the magic happens. The simplicity of a piano and voice wrapped my being in gorgeous sound. The light show seemed a bit much, but not terribly so.

Of the handful of songs that I do know, she played them all but one. She did not grace us with “Crucify”. It is one of her better known songs. I’m sure she’s played it enough for it to have lost some of the meaning for herself. So I guess I could understand why she nixed it from her play-list. Still, it would have been nice to hear.

I’m limited on time now, but I will write more on this later.

Leave a Reply

