Back to the Story…

It’s been more than a week now since I have written anything new.  The holidays make it difficult to find spare time to do almost anything.  I’m really close to finishing the first draft of my novel.  With all luck and determination, I want this done before the new year.  I know it’s possible.  I just have to keep telling myself that it doesn’t need to be a masterpiece the first time out.  It’s a rare writer that can accomplish that.  And I’m pretty sure all the other writers poke fun at them when they’re not around.

A word of advice.  If you are one of the golden-gifted, first-time-through-I-have-the-perfect-manuscript kind of a person, keep it to yourself.  Otherwise, you’re just rubbing it in the noses of all us hard-working, fifth-draft-but-still-not-quite-right kind of people.  Not that I know anyone like that.  If I did, I’m sure I would be encouraging regardless of how many drafts it took them to finish their work.  I’m also sure when they weren’t around, I would mock them a bit.  Nothing too severe, and mostly to myself.

So tonight I will take my trusty laptop and squirrel away a small spot at the local coffee house.  More than likely there will be someone performing, but along with my trusty laptop, I have my trusty headphones too.  In my story, I’m building up to climax of the story.  Very tense.

I’ll let you know how it goes later.

One thought on “Back to the Story…

  1. I’m a grinder too–my first few drafts are an absolute mess until I gradually shape and hone the manuscript, a slow and soul-consuming process that hasn’t changed since I started out over two decades ago. Good luck with your own endeavors and be assured there are a lot more hard-working, steady as she goes writers out there than first draft geniuses (thank God)…

Leave a Reply

