New Years Resolutions

Time to bring in the new year with a new resolution.  Quite honestly, I don’t recall what last year’s resolution was.  This year, however, will be recorded here so I can look back in a year to see if I made it happen.

This year’s resolution has everything to do with my writing, getting more organized, consistent, and serious about making this my career.

  1. I will finish Raven’s Mark by the end of January.  By early spring I will have it revised.  I will research agents and publishers so by the summer I can send out query letters.
  2. At least three times a week I will write in my blog.  I could be about anything I choose, but at least one week will pertain to writing.  Be it my own work, works I have read, thoughts on style, or the business side of it,there will be no less than one a week.
  3. At least twice a week I will devote to my own works of fiction.
  4. Overall, “No day goes by without 500 words.”  Brent Ghelfi told me that this year, and I plan to keep with it.
  5. I will get published (or accepted to get published) this year.  It could be a short story or my novel.  I’m not going to get nit-picky over it.

There you have it.  My list for this year.  Come next December I’ll revisit this blog to see how well I did.

Before I go, let me give you a quick novel update.  I finished chapter eighteen last night.  That brings the word count up to…

((drum roll please))

41,443 words.

I feel another three chapters in me until the book will be done.  Very obtainable as far as my resolutions go.

One thought on “New Years Resolutions

  1. Exciting! I have already gotten started with my resolutions, as evidenced by the fact that I have finally updated my blog again, thanks for the motivation…although I found that once I got REALLY serious about my submission packets, I still had some major research to do to get a grip on my agent list. But work is work is work, right? Right. See ya in ’08!

Leave a Reply

