Slowly but Surely

Last night I was able to pound out another 700 words.  I’m right in the thick of the climactic event.  So far it has not been at all what I thought it would be.  I don’t take that as a bad thing.  I feel my characters are acting out in their own manner and doing things I hadn’t expected, but it feels right.  There were a few characters that appeared that I had no idea were going to show up again, but there they were.  Really it was all rather exciting.

Blocking action scenes can be quite tricky.  Some times it flows out like magic.  Most times I need to beat it out with a wooden club.  I think the trick is, if I can clearly see it happening in my head, I can translate it to the page.  If I only have a vague notion of what I want to happen, it flounders.  My sentence structure tends to be shorter.  The exception would be if there were several things going on at once.  Then I would string them together in a run on.  So far it seems to be working for me.  Any other tips out there?

Alright.  Drum roll please…

**silent anticipation**

Midway through chapter twenty brings my current word count to 43,181.

**Oooo, Aaahh**

Thank you.  It’s been a long road.  I’m on track to be finished by the end of the month.  Please wish me luck.  That’s when the real work begins… Revisions.

Leave a Reply

