Rainy Monday

It rained all day yesterday.  I’m not sure if it’ll continue today.  As much as I love the rain, I have to work outside in the morning, and it would make it inconvenient for me.  Really I’d rather stay at home, build a fire in the fire place, and write all day.  I’m so close to being finished, I don’t want to stop writing.

I wrote another 633 words last night.  I added a small scene that chapter nineteen was missing.  Typically I would wait until revisions to add anything else, but it seemed pretty crucial to what is to happen later.  Truthfully I know the chapter will need to be beefed up even more.  It’s only a measly 1,200 words or so.

Chapter twenty is coming along.  I’m in the height of the action now.  I’ve built and built and built to this critical moment.  The tension is high… and I have no idea what’s going to happen.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I know what the outcome will be.  I even know how to wrap up the whole novel.  This one little spot, however, I haven’t figured out.

I should just let the characters do their thing.  They sometimes know the story better than I do.  There have been a number of surprises for me throughout this entire novel.  I should just trust in them to finish their own story.

So here’s my current word count.  Not much different from last time, but here it is anyway:

43,814 words (and still counting)

After two more days of good writing time, I should have this all wrapped up.  I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

