Wrapping Up Raven’s Mark

As I’ve stated before, I finished the first draft of my first novel this last Tuesday. Here is the final word count:

46,086 words.

It’s still almost 14,000 words short of my goal. The average book length is between 60,000 and 80,000 words. That’s okay. I know of at least three scenes I need to add, and there are several places that need some beefing up. When it’s all said and done, I should easily breach the 60,000 mark.

My game plan now is to let it sit and simmer for a bit. I have a few short stories floating around in my head demanding their turn to be chronicled. Then sometime in March I will begin the revisions on Raven’s Mark. I’m not sure how long that process should take, but I would like to be done with that by summer. At that time I want to start marketing it to agents and begin on the second book, as yet untitled. Altogether I have three books planned in this series. I have rough ideas of what I want to happen in each. It should be an interesting ride. It still get me excited to think about it even after all these years of actually creating it.

This first novel has taken three years to complete and has gone through many incarnations. Now that the first one is complete, I’m sure the following installments won’t take as long.

Leave a Reply

