Possible Explanation?

I took a look back at some of the things I’ve written over the years.  I’ve covered ogre industry and illegal salvaging to raven-marked cat burglars and agnostic demon hunters.  So it should come to no surprise when I sometimes I wonder, “Where do I come up with this stuff?”

Some of it can be credited to current trends in publishing/television/movies.  I also recall at a young age, my mom sneaking me out in the middle of the night to see movies like Twilight Zone: The Movie and Alien.  Those alone could explain much of what I’m compelled to write today.

Then there’s personal experience.

At times in my life, I’ve seen or heard things that, to this day, still don’t have an easy explanation.  I’ve decided that from time to time I will share these stories.  I will say this, none of these instances have clear resolutions.  They happened, and I don’t know why.  I’m not sure that I need to know either.

The time line of events are a little hard to untangle in my earlier years.  Seeing that there is no build up to some greater event, I don’t think this is an issue.  So here goes…

When I was young and my brother and I used to share a room, my dad asked me to get my brother some socks.  I remember walking into our room and stopping cold.  Someone spoke in a low voice.  I could feel it in my chest as well as hear it, the voice was so low.  Now I’m not sure whether it spoke in a foreign language or if I was too petrified to grasp at what was being said.  Either way I had no idea what he said (I assume it was male with a voice that low).  Eventually I regained my senses enough to run back out of the room and to my dad.  Yammering at a mile a minute, I told my dad what I heard, and like any true dad, he searched the room, in the closet and even the front lawn by the window.

Nothing.

His search turned up nothing but a disobedient son who didn’t get his brother’s socks.

So there you go.  A run-of-the-mill disembodied voice.  I thought it would be best to start with something easy.  I’ll save the really weird stuff for later.  I’ll leave you with two questions:

Where do you think your creative spark comes from?

and,

Do you have any ghostly experiences that have shaped your life?

Thanks for reading and please feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

