Halfway Through [Update]

I’ve finished Forest Mage: Book Two of the Soldier Son Trilogy.  If you’ve missed my original Halfway Through Book Review, check it out here.  I’ve already covered the basics of the book in the previous post.  Here I’ll focus on whether or not the ending earned a payoff.

This is where I’m sitting on the fence.  If this was a stand alone book, the ending does not give a satisfactory payoff.  However, this is not a stand alone book.  It’s the second of three, which leaves me to suggest waiting until you have book three as well and reading them successively.  Of course I say that now before reading book three myself.

Final Verdict

Definitely check out this book if you love the fantasy genre.  However if you’re new to fantasy or to Robin Hobb, you might do yourself a favor and save this one for later down the road.  I don’t believe this is her best work , but not one to just cast off either.

Leave a Reply

