Summer Time Once Again

[tweetmeme]

The kids are done with school. Now everyone in the house sleeps in while I tip-toe around, getting ready for work. Vacations happen. Sunburns happen. Summer jobs are being searched for. Swim lessons begin.

This first month of summer is eagerly awaited. It feels like the whole world is opened up to you. Wherever you want to go, whatever you want to see, you just have to think about it, and in your soul you’re convinced it’s going to be.

That’s where I’m at right now. My vacation time resets on the 15th of this month, and I’m itching to spend it up. I would like to use some of that time for a writer’s retreat, find a cabin away from home, maybe with a few writer friends who could also use the time away, and write.

Write without worry about the outside world. No appointments. No time restraints. Just me and my story. A week of that would be awesome, but I’d settle for a weekend. Really, I don’t think I could do enough smooth-talking to get a whole week.

At the end of the summer there is something of note. The 3 Day Novel Contest happens over Labor Day weekend. Registration just opened for the 2010 contest. If you’ve never tried, you should. It’s very much like NaNoWriMo crammed into three sleep-deprived, caffeine-driven days. I participated several years ago, and had know idea how intense the experience would be. I no longer can afford the time, otherwise I’d sign up in an instant. If you have any 3 Day Novel Contest horror stories, I’d love to hear them. Mine wasn’t that dramatic, but I did write and edit all the way up to the midnight deadline.

So what are your summer plans?

Share

Leave a Reply

