Commencing Phase One

A couple of weeks ago I came up with a plan to get me back on the path of revisions. I even touched on it a bit in my post over at The Parking Lot Confessional last Friday. Now it’s time to implement it.

I’ve taken much more time than I should have in getting this done. Months ago I attempted revisions, but to my detriment, I went at it the wrong way and overwhelmed myself. Only one chapter made it through. To my credit though, that single chapter is a million times better than the original draft. Regardless, I stopped revising, too daunted to do the same for the subsequent chapters.

What I needed was a new plan. Something that would make the project manageable. I found a blog post via @inkyelbows on Twitter that I’ve managed to lose, but fortunately remember the gist of. (If I find it, I’ll update this post later.)

The first phase of my plan involves me getting back in touch with the story. To do that I’m reading through the entire manuscript. I’ve printed it out to avoid the temptation of editing before I’m ready. That’s really key here. I only want to get reacquainted with the story, not fix it yet.

Hopefully this won’t take long. I should be done by the end of this week. Then I’ll head into Phase Two. I’ll explain that once I get there.

I want to keep track of my revisions as I do them. The difficulty lies in the how to quantify progress. A word count will fluctuate between cuts and additions, so I don’t think that would b a good method. I also think a page count could be misleading as well. So I came up with this.

Amy K. Nichols suggest to me that I should print out every chapter that I finish so I can see the progress as I’m making it. This is what I’m going to share with you. As you can see, my current draft is at a mere 2 cm. Once I start the final revisions I’ll update the Finished Stack, and we can watch it grow together. Make sure you look for it in the side bar.

What do you do to motivate you through revisions? I’d really like to know.

[tweetmeme]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

