Empty Room And Audio Books

Do you ever get the feeling like you’re talking to an empty room? Try ignoring your blog for a month, and you’ll know exactly what I mean. I could blame it on a million different things: I got busy; I ran out of interesting things to say; I lost four of my fingers to an alien dissection that they only now saw fit to give back.

Whatever. You don’t want to hear that, and frankly, I don’t want to talk about it. So what do I want to talk about?

Audio books seem like a good place to start.

It’s of the utmost importance to study the topic in which you want work in. When it comes to writing, you have to go beyond books about how to write. Read a book that interests you, then disassemble it to see how the author did made it work.

Wait. Didn’t I say I was going to talk about audio books?

Right. So I don’t have the time to read as much as I would like. Enter the audio book. These are great sources of entertainment when you need to use your hands to work, but not necessarily your brain to do said work. So that should take care of my study of author writings, right?

Not entirely.

Without the text in front of my face, I can’t see the author’s use of punctuation, sentence structure, or text-related insight (or puns for that matter). If the person narrating the book is at all good, some of those things can come across. Not all, but some.

In the case of the book I’m currently listening to, the narrator speaks in such a monotone voice, I’m finding it hard to stay awake, let alone be able to dissect the author’s use of style. I have the urge to tear into story, but as I’m only an hour into the listening, I’ll withhold judgement for a later discussion.

I think I’ll leave it there. The echoes in this empty room get a little disconcerting after a while.

Leave a Reply

