Let the Dominoes Fall

I think I’ve finally come to the part of my life where I want to live it better. That, of course, comes on the heels of realizing I wasn’t living it the best I could. On the surface, I looked fine. Always smiling. Pleasant to be around for the most part. Healthy kids. Healthy marriage.  Living the life?

Not really.

What I said above is true. I won’t change those for the world. What I needed to change was something in me. I’m lazy.

There. I said it. The big fat elephant in my room has been addressed. I love nothing more than to come home and sit in front of the boob tube. I take care of my family, but as soon as I get a spare moment, to the television or computer I go. No more.

The change started a couple of months ago. First thing I realized was that my debt was manageable. In about three years, the bulk of my burden will be gone. That was the first domino.

The second was future planning. After that debt is gone, what did we want to save for? The ideas came easy: house, RV, vacations, etc. This seemed much more palatable than our other money daydreams. These we could do.

Now drop the third domino. Was I going to live long enough to see all these dreams come to fruition? Maybe, but if I did, would I be healthy enough to enjoy them? With my current lifestyle? Probably not.

Now I’m not that old. But, since I’m looking at a future in all seriousness, I need to look at everything. If I wanted to do all the things I just planned, I need to get in shape. Exercise.

So I made like Forest Gump and ran. To be specific, I started the Couch to 5k (c25k) regiment. As the name suggests, in nine weeks this program takes you from couch potato to running 5k (approximately 3.11 miles). I thought that was impossible. I looked at the course laid out and just knew it was impossible.

I started it anyway.

Every week the run time gets longer, and I swear up and down I won’t be able to do it. And every week I’m amazed I actually ran the entire required time. Don’t get me wrong. It’s hard as hell. My lungs burn, my legs tremble, my body wants to lie down. Then I finish. I’m sore and sweaty and breathing hard.

And I feel great.

I just finished week 4 and am already terrified for week 5, but through experience, I know I can do it.

The rest of the dominoes fall.

I’m not sure why, but this has spurned an uptick in my productivity. At work, I’m getting more done in the same amount of time. My writing isn’t getting neglected as much. I wrote about it that specifically at my other site if you’re interested. And I can’t wait to see what else follows.

I think about all those life dominoes falling all around us. For the most part we get to place them wherever we like. Then when it’s all done, we step back and get to see what we created with our lives. Will you be happy with what you see? I want to be. That’s why I’m making that effort.

Now where to place that next domino…

One thought on “Let the Dominoes Fall

Leave a Reply

