Not Giving Up

I know it feels like I’ve abandoned this blog, but I haven’t. I just haven’t had the right mix of inspiration and time to keep up with it. I regularly post at my other site, The Parking Lot Confessional. There I put in my two cents on writing topics.

Originally I wanted to do that here, but the PLC covers all the bases and then some. So I don’t want to repeat myself over here. So I’ll be working on a new way to revamp The Shadowed Quill. Something that’s definitely me, but not cross contaminating with my other blog. The thing is, writing plays a pretty big part of my life. One way or another it’s going to be talked about here as well.

I might bring it to a more personal level here and keep the more business-like attitude over there. Well, as business as I get anyway. I plan to keep doing my Halfway Through Book Reviews and corresponding updates. I’ll also put the blog on fiber and keep it regular. The trick is keeping the quality up with the quantity. If you read something you don’t like, let me know. I’m not promising I’ll never post something similar again. I just like to know what pushes your buttons.

Since the beginning of the month I’ve been playing the personal trainer to my writing craft. I’ve been working it like a slave driver to give it sexy abs. Write, write and write some more. Building the habit has to be the first step in whipping that craft into shape. Once a daily routine is set in place, the muse will come sniffing around. Don’t wait on it, when it rears its head just be like, “Oh, hey. Thanks for stopping by. That’s a good idea. See you around.”

Then one day you’ll get something good, and you’ll realize that the muse didn’t have its fingers in on that one. Huh, go figure. And nothing gets a muse more jealous than a good idea that it didn’t have a say on. Next thing you know, that muse will be stopping by more often.

You have to make that muse chase you. The first time you go looking for that muse, you’ll be left high and dry for some other crafty writer with sweet abs. Take care of yourself and your craft and let that muse trip over itself getting your attention.

At least that’s how I see it this month. I”m conditioning my craft through 750words.com. I’m participating in their monthly writing challenge which I would recommend to everyone wanting to write regularly. I’m a third of the way through and determined to finish it. I’m already starting to notice a difference in my writing habits. All good.

So look here this following week as I start revamping the site. Feel free to comment on things you’d like to see. I’m not beyond taking requests.

Leave a Reply

