The Long and Short of It

This weekend I finally followed through with something I told myself I would do back in June. It took the right measures of courage, motivation, and opportunity to converge all at once for me to finally do it. And here’s the result:

Saturday afternoon I lopped off my hair that I’ve been growing for about four years now. For the people who have already seen the results, the most common question I get is, “Why?”

To which I don’t think I’ve given a decent answer to yet. So I’ll try to explain here. There were several factors that lead me to this, ranging from superficial to deeply personal.

First up, my hair started to annoy me. Nothing like cruising down the road, trying to look over your shoulder to see if there’s any traffic in your blind spot only to be thwarted by your hair pinned between your back and the seat. And I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been awoken in the middle of the night because I’ve pulled my hair while rolling over. Ever tried giving someone a kiss and have a curtain of hair block your attempt. It got old fast.

Second, and probably the most superficial, I got tired of being referred to as a hippie. I’m far from it. I’m a nice guy and generally pleasant to be around, but I’ve never had the urge to hug a tree, forgo personal hygiene to get closer to nature, or become a vegan or vegetarian (for full disclosure, my wife and children are vegetarian and I fully support their beliefs (although I’ll jump at the chance once my kids want a taste of the carnivore life)). Honestly, it’s a bit of a social experiment to observe how others’ perception of me will change without me changing anything but my hair.

From the moment I decided to grow my hair out years ago, I knew how it was going to end. As I did eight years ago, I donated my hair to Locks of Love. If you’re not familiar with the organization, please take a minute to click on the link or picture to read more on what they’re about. Nothing gets to me more than children in need. Outside of taking care of my own children, I don’t have much to offer in way of help. Once I found out about Locks of Love, I knew I’d found something I could do to help make a difference in a child’s life.

I have one more reason that’s more personal than the rest for cutting it off. One that I plan to keep to myself for a little while longer. Eventually I’ll be comfortable to share, but for now please respect my privacy on this.

So there you go. I hope I answered the “whys” out there. If you still have questions or want me to go more into something, feel free to ask in the comments below.

 

One thought on “The Long and Short of It

Leave a Reply

