HTBR UPDATE: The Wise Man’s Fear

It’s been a while coming, but I did warn you in the last post that I’d be taking my time with this one. Granted, I did take a little longer than I had originally anticipated. That being said, let me give you my final thoughts.

This book could easily have been split into three. In fact I almost wish it was. For one, it would have saved my arms from the extra workout just holding the volume up. Not an issue for e-reader users, I know, but still needs to be said. And two, it would have allowed for the parts that were glossed over to be addressed in the manner I would have liked to have read.

What few flaws I might have seen in the book can be easily overlooked for the sheer craftsmanship of the prose. I would read it again if my “To Read” list ever should permit (on a Kindle, though).

My verdict?

Read it. If you haven’t read the first in the series, The Name of the Wind, start there and don’t look back. Now my only hope is that Patrick Rothfuss doesn’t take as long to write the third and final installment. Regardless, if it’s published next year or five years from now, I know I’ll pick it up and enjoy every page.

Leave a Reply

