House Cleaning

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been playing around with the layout here at the Shadowed Quill. Please excuse the cluttered text. I should have it all ironed out soon enough.

Cold DaysJust finished reading Jim Butcher’s latest book, Cold Days. It’s the fourteenth book in the Dresden Files (15th if you include Side Jobs, a collection of short stories in the same universe). So much better than the previous novel. Not that Ghost Story wasn’t good, it just didn’t quite have the oomph I come expect in this series.

I didn’t do one of my Halfway Through Book Reviews on it. I chalk that up to quick reading (although I did my best to stretch it out). When I remembered that I should do one, I was already well passed the midway point. Also, I find that even halfway through one of the later novels, there are spoilers to the previous novels. Since the whole point of the HTBR is to prevent spoilers, I opted not to do that.

Over at my other site, The Parking Lot Confessional, we’ve altered the structure over there as well as the tone, but still keeping true to our writing roots. In the last week alone I’ve posted three times (here, here, and here if you’re interested). Sorry if that makes people here feel a little cheated on. I’ll do better.

My bathroom project is about to wrap up as well. I’ll post more pictures when that’s done. So all in all, 2013 is shaping up nicely so far. How’s yours coming?

5 thoughts on “House Cleaning

  1. Thanks for asking! It is going well. It sounds like you have your hands full with all the blogs, your writing and life! Good luck with you bathroom. 🙂

  2. I’m with you. I have enjoyed all the books in Butcher’s series. For me, the brilliance of Ghost Story was in the seven words Harry hears right at the end. While I (like you) didn’t enjoy the entirety of the book as much as others, that quote is my favorite from the series and one of my all time favorite quotes.

    Cold Days was amazing.

    1. I thought I knew what would happen over the course of this book.
      I.
      Was.
      So.
      Wrong.
      I think the twists were masterful because even though I expected them (based on the previous works), I still didn’t see them coming. There’s only one thing better than a book getting you to yell out loud either in warning to a character (The NeverEnding Story keeps me hoping that one day they’ll hear me) or event. The best is when the author gets me to feel the exact emotion the main character is feeling at the same time that he’s feeling them. That is the mark of one who’s good at his craft.

      1. It’s true. Butcher is a master writer. (I seriously don’t know how he’s not a household name…) I feel like I’ve learned tons about the craft of writing by reading his books, which is to say nothing of how many hours of enjoyment I’ve gotten from them.

Leave a Reply

