The Next Big Thing

Heard of a Blog Hop? I have, and I’ve been invited to participate in one. Go figure. So let me give you the run down.

The Next Big ThingIf you haven’t guessed already, this blog hop is called The Next Big Thing. Hopefully this ensures you, the reader, that some day I will be the next big thing. No harm in that. I rather like the notion. I like it even more because I was asked to participate by someone whom I enjoy reading the work. Which brings us to the first part of this blog hop:

From Where It Came

This opportunity was given to me by Dex Raven. Dex Raven writes primarily dark fantasy and horror, when his muse, Violet, cooperates. When she doesn’t, he still attempts to write with varying results. He has a thing for classic monster legends, Egyptian and Nordic mythology, coffee, sarcasm and words that end in “esque”. He is currently working on two books: a fiction/non-fiction mash-up and his first novel. You can find his fiction as well as his thoughts on the writing process here (ravenspeak.wordpress.com).

Blog (fiction & writing) | Blog (life & ramblings) | Facebook | Twitter

Next in the Blog Hop business:

A Q&A with Yours Truly

  1. What is the working title of your next book?
    I actually have three books in various phases from outline to second drafts. The closest to completion is Raven’s Mark.
  2. Where did the idea for your book come from?
    The origins of that idea can be traced all the way back to a song. More accurately, my misinterpretation of that song. I was so far off what the lyrics actually were that once I discovered the real lyrics, I liked mine better. Then created a short story based on it. That short story became the world in which my book now takes place. I wrote several short stories set in that world until I finally stumbled upon one that wouldn’t be appeased in short form. It needed a full novel length to tell its story and hinted at two more after.
  3. What genre does your book fall under?
    Genre can be such an ugly word. It helps draw discriminatory lines. But if you want to sell within a bookstore, they need to know where to stock you. I would say its a nice fit as urban fantasy, crime fiction. If I could make Urban Science Fiction a thing, it would probably fit under there a bit better, seeing as there are no monsters in it other than ones made from human nature. The is science that comes off as magic, though. So there’s that.
  4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
    The only character I have picked out is my main character, Jake. I can easily see him played by David Belle. Not only is he skilled in parkour, which my book is filled with, he closely resembles how I envisioned my main character. Other than that, I’ll let the Hollywood-ites fight over the remaining rolls.
  5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
    Covered in rune implants, Jake uses their odd power to steal whatever he likes under the auspices of the Ravens until he is caught on photograph and is left unsure on who to fear more, the cops or the Ravens.
  6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
    I’d prefer it to be represented. If I ever take the self-publish route, I’ll use other stories.
  7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
    The first draft took me a little over a year to complete. I was a total pantser in regards to writing style. I only had three scenes I knew were going to happen, the beginning, the tunnel, and the light at the end. I don’t think I’ll ever go that route again. I found myself writing my characters into corners they couldn’t get out of, in turn forcing me to rewrite entire sections.
  8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
    Uuuuuhhhhh…
    Can you repeat the question? No? Okay.
    In regards to pacing and excitement, I’d like to compare it to Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files. In regards to the crime element and magic-like science, I haven’t read anything comparable. That might be why I decided to write it. Simply because I know I’d like to read it.
  9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
    To pinpoint a single thing to credit for inspiration is like asking an actor to give  a short acceptance speech at the Oscars. Not possible. A number of people encouraged me to write, from my wife and family to The Amys to writing instructors and critique groups. Inspiration was found in stories, the mundane, conversations, music, and countless other things. Inspiration was found wherever I was willing to look.
  10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
    I don’t think I mentioned secret societies or the serial killer. My book has those, too.

Did you make it through all of that? Good! Now it’s time for me to pay it forward with:

People You Should Be Watching

Amy K. Nichols
Amy’s stories have been published by Plain Spoke and See Spot Run, and have been performed by The Liars League. Her children’s story “Harvey and the Horrible Sneeze” was published in the 13th Annual Bedtime Storybook. She earned an honorable mention in the WOW! Women on Writing Summer 2009 Flash Fiction Contest, and won third place in the 27th Annual 3-Day Novel Contest. Amy is represented by Quinlan Lee of Adams Literary. To read samples of her work, please visit www.amywrites.com.
Blog1 | Blog2 | Twitter | FacebookWebsite

Amy McLane
As Amy Beth Forbes, her work has appeared in divers locations, such as Flytrap, Kiss Machine, Realms of Fantasy, and LCRW. Her short story A is For Apple was reprinted in The Best of Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet, a collection available at your finer booktuaries nationwide. She is currently slaving away at a multi-book epic fantasy, and often forgets to post at personal blog Smoldering Ink. Elusive and quixotic, she likes pie, but wouldn’t say no to cake.
Blog1 | Blog2

N. E. White
N. E. White was born in California to a Texan native and a Mexican immigrant. Her professional pursuits include environmental conservation and management, spatial analysis, and earth systems modeling. She writes everyday after walking her dog. One of these days, she’ll finish her novel. Until then, check out her blog at N. E. White.
Blog1 | Blog2

Rachel Small (aka faultlessfinish)
Rachel is  a freelance editor based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. As an editor, nothing is more important to her than ensuring that a writer’s message is effectively heard and understood. As a writer herself, she understand the challenges writers face on a day-to-day basis and truly has their best interests at heart. In her spare time, she enjoys listening to as much music as she can get her hands on, reading the biographies of famous musicians, doing yoga, and drinking large vanilla lattes.
Blog | Twitter | Website

David Blackstone
David writes fiction. That’s it. Well, at least on his blog. There’s no explanations or intros. Just the fiction and nothing but the fiction. For a more thorough explanation on why he does it, check it out here.
Blog | Twitter | Google+

I’m not requiring any of these people to play along. This particular post took up more time then I had planned, and I understand how time is limited. If I had to choose, I’d rather these people continue posting the content that got me reading their blogs in the first place than for them to stress over a Blog Hop. Regardless, you should go check them out to see why I think they could be the Next Big Thing.

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Nice. Love the title. (How could I not?) And a comparison to the Dresden Files? I’m so in. Best of luck as you move forward with it! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Dex. Although, I have to admit it feels weird talking about my story so publicly, rather exposed. Kind of like walking around with your zipper down, only I did this on purpose. The post, not the zipper.

Leave a Reply

