Dragon Haven [HTBR: UPDATE]

Dragon HavenHere are my quick thoughts after finishing Dragon Haven by Robin Hobb. The original HTBR is here if you’re interested.

I’m happy to say that after breaching the halfway mark, the book finally picks up steam and holds a respectable pace to the end. I’ll admit it was rather predictable, but satisfying.

I would only recommend this series to established Robin Hobb fans. Which seems pointless, as they’ve probably already read it. For the rest of readers new to Hobb, I don’t think they would be willing to wade through a book and a half before things got exciting. For them I’d recommend Hobb’s The Farseer Trilogy.

As for the rest of this series, I’ll get to them.

Eventually.

Spacing them out will help me forget what annoyed me about them. That mainly being the over-repetitiveness that drags the novel’s forward momentum. Other than that, the writing is superb and paints vivid portraits of the characters, places, and yes, dragons too.

One thought on “Dragon Haven [HTBR: UPDATE]

Leave a Reply

